FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup 2022 begins today

Share on:

The FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup 2022 will begin today. India is now hosting the tournament after successfully hosting the U-17 men’s FIFA World Cup in 2019. Sixteen women’s U-17 national teams from six confederations will compete for the coveted title. The 16 teams are split into four groups of four teams each. The top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout stages.

India will take on the USA in its Group-A opener at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar this evening. The match will start at 8 pm.   This is the seventh edition of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. North Korea is the tournament’s most successful nation, having won two titles since its inception in 2008. Previous winners include South Korea, France, Japan, and Spain.

Spain is the defending champions, having won the 2018 tournament in Uruguay, defeating Mexico in the final. In a video message, Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Anurag Thakur has said, it is matter of great pride for every citizens that for the first time Indian women will play in FIFA tournament.